Advanced Blogging: Game of Thrones Season 3

When I was scanning through the entertainment section of my reader I came across a headline for the third season of Game of Thrones (GoT) on the website Zap2It.

‘Game of Thrones’ Season 3 trailer: Chaos is coming to Westeros

I was immediately intrigued as I love the show and with only 12 episodes coming out each year it’s a big deal when the first trailer comes out. Much to my disappointment I couldn’t get the HBO trailer link to work so I had to chase it down on Youtube. Although the trailer was only a teaser and no actual footage was shown it sets the tone for the upcoming season.

“Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder,” Littlefinger says as various “Game of Thrones” main characters are shown. “Many who try to climb it fail, never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.”

Nevertheless it does show all the main characters and serves as an excellent warmup for the promotional material that I know will come ahead of the March 31 premiere date. I am subscribed also to the HBO Game of Thrones Youtube channel and they have already released promotional videos of behind the scenes for the upcoming season. I presume that a full length trailer will arrive soon.

Advanced Blogging: BAFTA Awards

Article Summary

I found this article on my google reader through my subscription to deadline.com. The article discussed the winners and some of the notable losers in relation mostly to their chances of winning an Oscar. It made big references to the following movies

  1. Zero Dark Thirty
  2. Argo
  3. Skyfall
  4. Django Unchained

The article talked a lot about Ben Affleck winning Best Director and not being nominated for an Oscar and also talked extensively about past Oscar snubs. These snubs included actress Marion Cotillard as well as the films Atonement and No Country For Old Men.

Mentioned Movies and their Awards

Django UnchainedOrginal Screenplay, Best Supporting Actor

Movie Bafta Results
Argo Best Film, Best Director
Les Miserables Best Supporting Actress and 3 other wins
Lincoln Best Actor
Zero Dark Thirty No Awards
Skyfall Outstanding British Film, Best Music Score
Link

http://www.deadline.com/2013/02/big-win-sends-argo-into-oscars-with-huge-momentum/